Day 28: Year of the Rooster – Rising Up

28-rooster

I ended up catching up on some sleep on Day 26 and taking off for a ski day on Day 27. So I’m back just in time for the lunar year beginning with our rooster here. I debated on whether to add a colored background. I didn’t and instead played around with salt to create texture and a straw to move some paint around. I like how it turned out.

The painting help me get away from media and shut down the politics for a while. I’m going to try really and maintain a media blackout for myself for most of the weekend. I’ve been working with a group of local girlfriends to be activated and to avoid a constant state of outrage. That’s been really helpful.

With my Day 28 painting done, I’ll be off to get ready for my native garden work day that is scheduled for tomorrow. Touring the plant nurseries for potential new residents in the native garden is always very grounding and peaceful for me. On Sunday, my volunteers and I will continue our work with our California native plant and bee sanctuary that is developing nicely. And I’ll try and get in my Day 29 painting as well.

Leave a Reply

