Day 21: Work in Progress

rgb-in-progress

Building on the wonderful sense of solidarity with my BFFs at the Women’s March on Sacramento this morning, I started on this latest portrait of one of my heroes. I was really torn between painting “Resistance Auntie” and SCOTUS Ruth. But I’ve been thinking about Ruth for a couple of months now, so she won the day.

Unfortunately, my fave reference photo of her has a rather complicated lace collar. I generally don’t like to paint details like this, but without the collar, this portrait would have felt incomplete. So I just spent 45 minutes obsessively applying masking fluid with a wooden skewer (masking fluid ruins brushes). A light wash in yellow ochre and this masking is as far as I’ve gotten this evening. I expect I’ll finish this tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

