Day 16: Portrait of a King

day-16_mlk

I get a paid holiday today commemorating the great man, Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr. So with this day off, I get a chance to reflect and to try to do justice to this classic portrait photo of MLK with a watercolor painting. I don’t think it’s too bad for a first try. I worked on keeping things pretty loose. I wasn’t very successful with his clothing, so that’s cropped out. I’ll need to work on my fabrics.

After working on those tiny portraits for my masseuse, it was very liberating to work much larger with this King portrait. This 10″ x 14″ is the minimum size I prefer working in.

Leave a Reply

