Day 8: Robyn #4

fullsizerender

With this portrait of Robyn, I finally wrap up a series of portraits I agreed to do for trade for bodywork. This series was my first “commission” and turned out to be really challenging for me. What was originally going to be just 4 portraits turned into 8, and it took me almost 2 years to get them done. Needless to say, I probably won’t do something like this for a while.

A few things made this series really hard: their really small size (only 4.5″x6″), not always having the best photo references to work with, and my energy level and focus to keep at it. Now that they are done, I’m feeling pretty good about the accomplishment. I also feel freed up mentally to move onto to other painting projects without feeling guilty.

I’m feeling so liberated right now. I think I’ll just marinade in this sense of well-being for a while.

 

2 thoughts on “Day 8: Robyn #4

Leave a Reply

