Painting for Realz

For the last many months, I’ve been working on a series of portraits. After posting some of my early work up on Facebook, my massage therapist, Kara, saw them and asked if I’d be interested in doing some portraits of her Body Advantage partners in exchange for bodywork sessions. She wanted something fun for her office instead of standard photographs. I readily agreed. Which is probably not the best decision for me to make as now I’d actually have to produce something for realz instead of just throwing stuff up on social media for funz.

2016-02-20 19.07.23
Kara. Owner, CMT

So here it is about 18 months later and I’m still muddling along to get these portraits for Kara done. I did get five done. And she keeps adding staff, so my commitment keeps growing! And in these last months, one of the yoga instructors I painted moved away. So I need to be done already!

2016-06-07 13.58.59
Julie. Personal trainer, CMT

The portraits are small, 4.5″ x 6.5″. The small size intimidated me at first as I had been painting in at least 11″ x 14″ size. But once I got started, working small wasn’t as tedious and painstaking as I feared. My block has been getting into the mental space to paint. Still working full time, I have yet to develop the discipline to create a schedule after work or on weekends to paint regularly.

2016-02-15 16.44.36
Madeleine. Yogi

The hardest portrait for me of the four to date was Sydney, the chiropractor. I hadn’t painted men before, so I struggled with not making him look like he was wearing lipstick. And his eyes were a little tricky too. He would end up looking more like Tiger Woods than Sydney. After six tries, I finally got him.

syd
Sydney. Chiropractor

So now I have three left and have set a goal for myself to have these done by September 21 when I have my next bodywork session. I’ve already completed a couple of studies of Robyn and Sonya and will need to work on them more. And then I’ll work on Kasha.

This is totally going to happen. For realz.

One thought on “Painting for Realz

Leave a Reply

